E – Eckhart Tolle

eckhart-tolle-full-sizeEckhart Tolle is a spiritual teacher and writer. His book the Power of Now is the first book I read in the genre. It  introduced me to the concepts of ego and shadow and how they fashion our behaviours and compulsions.  One of the most interesting things about this book for me was the paradox of reactions I had to reading it.

awarenessOn the one hand, I felt deeply connected to the message. I was in awe of the ideas conveyed, and simultaneously I knew without question, that it was all true. Whilst on the other, I noticed a tendency to gloss over sections, evading the words and the message from entering my consciousness. It is not a very long book, some 191 pages, yet it took me several weeks to read because I had re-read many of the sections multiple times before I could recall what it was I’d read.

awareness-behind-them-eckhart-tolle-picture-quoteI realised that my ego was squirming. I felt uncomfortable with the information and wanted to bury my head in the sand.  This is something I tend to do. It is a protective mechanism. One that I have outgrown and yet am still habitually trapped in.

Eckhart Tolle gave me my first self realisations, and with that awareness, came a desire to pursue a more spiritual and balanced life.

List of Works

The Power of Now (1999)

Practicing the Power of Now (2001)

Stillness Speaks (2003)

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose (2005)

Milton’s Secret (2008)

Oneness With All Life (2008)

Guardians of Being ( 2009)

Reviews

power of now

The Power of Now is a great book for anyone looking to read into western spiritualism.  It bridges the divide between western and eastern spiritual disciplines. If Buddhism, Ayurveda, or shamanism interests you but feels inaccessible then this is the book for you.  It guides the western mind through a process of self awareness and understanding, and teaches how to live in the Now.

being

Now is where life is happening, but our minds often whir and think, and over-think and whir. We think about the past and we think about what might happen in the future. We think about what we’ve lost, we think about where we want to be in 5-10 years time. All this is a distraction from living in the present.

If you’re thinking, ‘oh, well I live in the now’. News for you: you’re not, you’re thinking…

Links

Eckhart Tolle Official Website

Watch Eckhart Tolle on You Tube

Buy on Amazon

6 responses to “E – Eckhart Tolle

  1. Pingback: B- Block: The Self-deprecating Method of Preventing your own Success | Jessica Triana·

Leave a Reply

